

## Training Programme on Climate Change: Challenges and Response (for Women Scientists working in the Government Sector) (13<sup>th</sup> – 17<sup>th</sup> March, 2023)



सत्यमेव जयते Department of Science and Technology Ministry of Science and Technology Governement of India

## Session Plan

Time (hrs.)	Monday	Tuesday	Wednesday	Thursday	Friday
	13-03-2023	14-03-2023	15-03-2023	16-03-2023	17-03-2023
09:30 -10:20	Registration, Inaugural Session & Course Overview	Climate Risk and Adaptation Response in Health Systems <b>(Purnima Prabhakaran)</b>	Visit to Indian Institute of	India's leadership on Climate Change, Initiatives and LiFE Movement <b>(Yugal Joshi)</b>	Climate Change Mitigation: Role of Science, Technology, Economic and Policy (Ch. Srinivasa Rao)
10:30 -11:20	Setting the Context of Climate Change: Challenges and Response (Aditya Valiathan Pillai)	Harmonizing Professional and Personal Life (Work life balance) <b>(K. Sekar)</b>	Technology (IIT), Roorkee <b>(Sumit Sen)</b>	Use of Climate Services Products in Policy and Planning-National Perspective (Anand Kumar Sharma)	Community Based Approaches to Climate Change Adaptation and Mitigation (Gitika Goswami)
11:20 -11:50		-	Tea/ Coffee Break		
11:50 -12:40	Climate Smart Agriculture for Development Planning and Action: Technologies, Programs and Policies ( <b>Vinod Kumar Singh)</b>	Transfer of Technologies from Lab to Land and Knowledge Sharing for Efficient Governance of Climate Risks <b>(Tushar Garg)</b>	Visit to Central Building Research Institute (CBRI), Roorkee	Future of Renewable Energy in India: Role of Scientific Institutions in the Net Zero Era <b>(Upendra Tripathy)</b>	Sustainability and Conservation in a Changing World <b>(V. B Mathur)</b>
12:50 -13:40	Assessment of Climate Change and its Impacts over the Indian Region <b>(Sooraj K P.)</b>	Rainwater Harvesting: Issues, Challenges & Opportunities for Sustainable Development (Deepak Khare)	(R. Pradeep Kumar)	Application of Geospatial Technology for Disaster and Climate Change Risk Management and Governance (Arijit Roy)	Valediction
13:40 -14:40		-	Lunch Break	· · · · · ·	
14:40 -15:30	Participatory Learning and Action: Tools and Techniques for Development of Climate Smart Village Plans <b>(H. C. Pokhriyal)</b>	"2040" documentary film <b>(Damon Gameau)</b>	Visit to Haridwar (CDM Team)	India's Heat Action Plan: A Successful Public Policy Response to Extreme Heat <b>(Mahaveer Golechha)</b>	
15:40 -16:20	Visit to Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration		Tea/ Coffee Break		

## Details of Resource Persons and Moderators

- 1) Dr. Aditya Valiathan Pillai, Associate Fellow, Initiative for Climate, Energy and Environment (ICEE), Centre for Policy Research (CPR), New Delhi (Moderator: Dr. S. Kala)
- 2) Dr. Vinod Kumar Singh, Director, ICAR Central Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture (CRIDA), Santoshnagar, Hyderabad (Moderator: Dr. Trisha Roy)
- 3) Dr. Sooraj K P., Scientist E, Centre for Climate Change Research, Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology (IITM), Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES), Pune (Moderator: Ms. Alka Gond)
- 4) Prof. H. C. Pokhriyal, Former Executive Director, School of Open Learning, University of Delhi, Delhi (Moderator: Ms. Archana Devi)
- 5) Dr. Poornima Prabhakaran, Director, Centre for Environment and Health (CPH), Public Health Foundation of India (PHFI), Gurgaon (Moderator: Ms. Nidhi Gahlot)
- 6) Dr. Kasi Sekar, Senior Professor of PSW & Registrar, Department of Psychosocial Support in Disaster Management (DPSSDM), National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences (NIMHANS), Bengaluru (Moderator: Monikangkana Talukdar)
- 7) Er. Tushar Garg, Scientist, Information Technology and Knowledge Management, National Innovation Foundation (NIF) India, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, Gandhinagar (Moderator: Dr. S. Nivedita)
- 8) Dr. Deepak Khare, Professor, Department of Water Resources Development & Management, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, Roorkee (Moderator: Ms. Rathna V.)
- 9) Prof. Sumit Sen, Associate Professor, Department of Hydrology & Head, Centre of Excellence in Disaster Mitigation and Management (CoEDMM), Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, Roorkee (Moderator: Dr. D. Venkata Mahalakshmi)
- 10) Prof. R. Pradeep Kumar, Director, CSIR- Central Building Research Institute (CBRI), Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of India, Roorkee (Moderator: Dr. Y. C. Radhalakshmi)
- 11) Dr. Yugal Joshi, Mission Director, LiFE, NITI Aayog, Government of India, Sansad Marg, New Delhi (Moderator: Ms. Kalpana Kalsi)
- 12) Shri Anand Kumar Sharma, Former Additional Director General of Meteorology (ADGM) & Scientist-G, India Meteorological Department (IMD), Government of India, Mausam Bhawan, Lodhi Road, New Delhi (Moderator: Ms. Ananti Saroj)
- 13) Shri Upendra Tripathy, IAS (retd.), Former Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy & Former Director General, International Solar Alliance (ISA) & Honorary Principal Advisor (Education) to HCM & Advisor-cum-Working President, Odisha Adarsha Vidyalaya Sangathan, Government of Odisha (Moderator: Ms. Swetapuspa Soumyashree)
- 14) Dr. Arijit Roy, Scientist SG & Head, Disaster Management Sciences Department (DMSD), Indian Institute of Remote Sensing (IIRS), Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), Department of Space, Government of India, Dehradun (Moderator: Dr. Nandini Ray Chaudhary)
- 15) Dr. Mahaveer Golechha, Professor, Indian Institute of Public Health-Gandhinagar (IIPHG), Gandhinagar (Moderator: Ms. Annie Maria Issac)
- 16) Dr. Ch. Srinivasa Rao, Director, ICAR-National Academy of Agricultural Research Management, (NAARM), Hyderabad (Moderator: Dr. Archana Anokhe)
- 17) Ms. Gitika Goswami, Associate Vice President, Lead Policy Research and Planning Support Development Alternatives Group, New Delhi (Moderator: Dr. T. Hemalatha)
- 18) Dr. Vinod B. Mathur, IFS (retd.), Former Chairperson, National Biodiversity Authority of India & Former Director, Wildlife Institute of India, Dehradun (Moderator: Ms. Ruby Susana Kujur)